When your biscuits don’t rise…

… you slyly pass them off as scones (^_^)  That’s the dilemma I was faced with this morning after my first attempt after  nearly five years to make buttermilk biscuits.  Unfortunately for me Martha White flour is not readily available in Japanese supermarkets, so I had to make do with the “Buttermilk Biscuit” from the Martha White website. It seemed like a good recipe as I was making the biscuits.  The dough turned out very well, albeit a bit thin.  I didn’t think much of it at the time because I didn’t remember how thick I should cut the biscuits. If you want thick biscuits, you cut thick biscuits! Duh!

I put them in the oven for exactly 10 minutes, and while they were cooking I checked them intermittently and noticed no vertical movement.  At first, I was alarmed, but thought that if I encouraged them that they would rise  toward the sky and make me proud, so I began chanting, “Come on biscuits, come on!”  No such luck!  When I finally did take them out they were almost as flat as when they began cooking.

And, get a load of this, the tops of the biscuits were still pasty and pale while the bottoms were a beautiful golden brown.  So, I did what any good cook would do; I turned all of the biscuits over so that only the appetizing brown side showed and told everyone to come eat some of my delicious scones.  They were a smash!  Everyone had four biscuits scones and were asking for more.  I was so proud of myself.  Nice save, if I do say so myself.

The bad thing is that I don’t have a single photo to show you of my delicious biscuits scones.  We were all caught up in the rapture of these fresh-baked treats  and I completely forgot to  take any pics until I started typing the first line of this post. Just imagine the most delicious biscuits/scones you’ve ever seen or tasted and you have mine!  (^0^)

**As I was typing that last line, I received an urgent request from Irie to make these again for tomorrow’s breakfast.  I don’t know if I’m ready to try my luck at these so soon, but I  did promise him that I’d make them later in the week. So, look for a snapshot of the 2nd attempt.

This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When your biscuits don’t rise…

  1. iriewars says:

    dem scones show was good:)

  2. fanon says:

    dem scones show was good:)

Leave a Reply

